Mexico, Tú Tienes Mi Corazón

I recently returned (kicking and screaming) from a short trip to Mexico, and I learned that I love Mexico. I’m usually the type to fall in love with a place and immediately want to move there. When I visit New York, I start creating a savings plan to afford a studio apartment. Same with Washington, D.C, and even Philly. When I took a spring break trip to the Dominican Republic, it was my new favorite vacation destination, although has now been surpassed by Mexico. Everything in Mexico was just, how do I say it…so much better.

IMG_1975

Now, I haven’t traveled many places out of the United States. Growing up, my parents didn’t take me on big elaborate vacations, except for when I was ten we went to Disney World, and you know how I feel about Disney World. Through college, I made many friends who’s families traveled all over the place and had broader perspectives on the world and travelling, and I knew that seeing as many places as I could throughout the world was something I needed to do.

After booking my flight to Italy for this May, I thought that was all my adventurous spirit could handle, until my best friend insisted we take a trip over my weeklong spring break from school. It would be my last spring break during school forever and probably the last time I could book a trip basically on a whim, so we did. Three weeks before our trip, we booked our vacation through a travel agent. We got a really great deal through Apple Vacations and booking with our rep at AAA. We had a direct flight and a room at a really beautiful all-inclusive resort.

IMG_1958

We could not have planned a better week for vacation. The weather in Mexico was as perfect as ever and the weather at home, well, it was horrible. Needless to say, we felt much better in the sun knowing we weren’t stuck at home in the snow. Until we came home and it was cold, but I’m trying to stick to the positives.

I have to say, my favorite part about Mexico, other than the weather, was the people. We met some of the nicest, most genuine people on our trip. I only wish I would’ve listened to my dad when he told me to continue studying Spanish in college, so I could maybe be fluent by now and be able to speak to people in their language. So many people there can speak English, why couldn’t I speak Spanish? My friend and I made a resolution to learn more Spanish, maybe even traveling to Spanish camp in Mexico or another country. I’ll add that to my list…

While in Mexico, we took a trip to Chichen Itza, the famous Mayan ruins that are a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of the Wonders of the World. Let me just say, if you go to Mexico and are within reasonable driving distance of the ruins and you don’t go then you are missing out and doing yourself a disservice. The Mayan people kicked ass, for lack of anything constructive to say. I think it’s a fact they were probably the smartest civilization ever. Even smarter than us with all of our gadgets that we can’t possibly live without. I couldn’t believe the Mayans created as much as they did so long ago with not a whole lot to work with. Our tour also took us swimming at Cenote Ik Kil, which is pretty touristy but still awesome. There are many other cenotes around that are “less touristy,” but not as accessible. You’d have to do your research.

IMG_1980

IMG_1955

Like I said, if you’re in the area and NOT going to Chichen Itza, I don’t even know what to say! Some people do not like the historical/cultural tours and would rather do the adventurous stuff like zip lining and swimming with turtles. In my opinion, save the $$$ you would spend on swimming with dolphins and paying an exorbitant amount on dorky pictures of you and your significant other kissing dolphins that probably don’t want to kiss your nasty face anyway, and go to Chichen Itza. How many times will you be able to visit a Wonder of the World?

IMG_1881

On my next trip, I hope to stay NOT at an all-inclusive, maybe in one of the other little beach towns like Playa Del Carmen or near Tulum. The all-inclusive is great, but you don’t get as much of the cultural experience since your in a beach bubble with a bunch of Americans and Canadians. I’m hoping to go to a Spanish camp somewhere. For now, I have Italy in two months to look forward to. Until then, I’m wallowing at school in a serious post-vacation depression.

One thought on “Mexico, Tú Tienes Mi Corazón

  1. Wow!! I’m so glad you had an amazing time! The photos look great, especially the pina colada in hand! I’ve never been to Mexico but it looks incredible!
    Italy will be fantastic too: )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment